-The 42nd annual awards of The Press Photographers Association of Ireland have taken place in Dublin-

The 42ndannual awards of The Press Photographers Association of Ireland took place in Dublin last Friday (28.02.20), at a gala awards ceremony held in Dublin, with photographers from across the island of Ireland represented. Taoiseach Leo Varadkar was in attendance to present the overall award of the ‘Press Photographer of the Year’ 2020 award.

Independent News & Mediaphotographer Mark Condren was named ‘Press Photographer of the Year’ 2020. Mark was awarded 1st prize in Politics, for his photo of Taoiseach Leo Varadkar during the naming and commissioning ceremony of the L.E. George Bernard Shaw; 1st prize in Portrait, for his striking image of open water swimmer Rachel Lee and 1stprize in the Multimedia category, for a video piece on a former Mountjoy inmate who followed his dream to become a triathlete. This is Mark’s fifth time to win the award, having been named ‘Press Photographer of the Year’ in 2009, 2011, 2013 and 2016, he has also won a European policing photography award.

Awards were presented across nine categories; news, daily life & people, nature & the environment, politics, sports action, sports feature, portrait, art & entertainment and reportage, alongside a dedicated award for multimedia. The collection of images provides a snapshot of the year 2019 in Ireland covering the many highs and the lows including sporting events both at home and abroad, from the outstanding moment Shane Lowry won at ‘The Open’ as well as historic events, such as 100 years of the Liffey Swim.

The judging panel was chaired by photographer Frank Miller and former picture editor, The Herald, Glasgow, Jim Connor and internationally acclaimed photographer Edmond Terakopian. The multimedia award was judged by Michael Lee, RTÉ cameraman and Philip Bromwell, RTÉ News video and mobile journalist.

Commenting on the portfolio of the ‘Press Photographer of the Year’ 2020, Mark Condren, the judges said; “The photographer demonstrated originality and a willingness to look at things from a different perspective. Across their portfolio they displayed great observational skill with creative and fresh angles while shooting in a distinct personal style. While the final choice of Photographer of the Year was difficult the judges were unanimous that this photographer was the deserved overall winner.”

Crispin Rodwell, President, The Press Photographers Association of Ireland, said; “By winning the overall Press Photographer of the Year title for a fifth time Mark Condren has etched his name into the record books. Adding this year’s multi-media award to those he has won for his still photographs demonstrates that in a changing technological landscape he was able to adapt his extraordinary eye and unique style to create a powerful and moving video. Mark’s portfolio has earned its place, along with all the other winners, in the nation’s visual history”.

The awards also featured the announcement of three new honorary members to the association, for outstanding contribution to the association and to press photography in Ireland. The newly appointed honorary members are former The Irish Times photographer Eric Luke, freelance photographer Nutan and broadcaster Miriam O’Callaghan.

The Press Photographers Association of Ireland ‘Press Photographer of the Year 2020’ Exhibition, featuring 109 prints, will be available to view at The Ballsbridge Hotel until Friday, 6th March . Other venues on the exhibition tour will include; the RDS, Dublin Airport, DLR LexIcon and a number of other locations throughout the country. Please visit www.ppai.iefor exhibition tour updates and to view the full collection of winning and highly commended images.


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All